The University of Louisiana Monroe Regains Control of the 2015 Cabela’s School of the Year Race

The University of Louisiana Monroe Regains Control of the 2015 Cabela’s School of the Year Race

By Cody Levy

SAN ANTONIO, Texas – As the fall semester is quickly winding down and final exams are fast approaching, college anglers are keeping the focus on the prestigious title of the 2015 Cabela’s School of the Year. The University of Louisiana Monroe has once again taken control of the Cabela’s School of the Year rankings with hopes of winning the title for the second time since the beginning of the school of the year program in 2012.

The college fishing world has progressively become more and more competitive each year, but one constant has remained – the University of Louisiana Monroe has remained a dominant force among college teams. Since the start of the Cabela’s School of the Year program in 2012, the lowest place the ULM fishing powerhouse has finished has been second place – once in 2012 and again in 2014, with their title victory occurring in 2013.

Brian Eaton, President of the University of Louisiana Monroe Bass Team, stated that “We’ve been focusing on the Cabela’s School of the Year points system for the past five months. We’ve been on the wire for the top spots after each sanctioned tournament, but it’s still very early in the year and there are a lot of points up for grabs.”

“This has been a team that is absolutely been phenomenal to see compete over the past few years. They travel to as many tournaments as they can each year and are quite often able to finish among the top teams at each tournament which is very hard to do,” said Wade Middleton, President of CarecoTV and Director of Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing Series.

Eaton added that “[The team] is excited to compete in as many tournaments we can and it gives us a drive to constantly do better. The Cabela’s School of Year Rankings are the national rankings – it’s what everybody goes by to see who is the best college bass team in the nation, so to be at the top of these rankings means everything.”

Other formidable challengers in the Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing Series such as last year’s Cabela’s School of the Year victors, the University of North Alabama are sitting in sixth place while the 2012 Cabela’s School of the Year Champions, Arkansas Tech University, currently reside in tenth.

The Warhawk Bass Team Vice President and ULM Sophomore, Tyler Craig revealed that this would be a tough season to win, but was confident in the team’s work ethic.

“I hope to continue the streak of success we’ve had in the past years. It will be tough as some of our strongest members have graduated, but there is a lot of talent on our team and we are willing to do whatever it takes,” Craig stated.

Though the fall is somewhat of a slower season then the spring, over thirteen Cabela’s School of the Year events have been projected solely for the fall season; however, the spring season holds the four nationally televised Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing tournaments which are scheduled for the following dates:

  • 03-13-2015 - 03-15-2015   2015 Cabela’s Collegiate Big Bass Bash - Kentucky Lake               
  • 04-17-2015 - 04-19-2015   2015 Collegiate Bass Fishing Open - Lake Chickamauga
  • 04-25-2015 - 04-26-2015   2015 Collegiate Bass Texas Shootout - Lake Texoma     
  • 05-20-2015 - 05-22-2015   2015 BoatUS Collegiate Bass Fishing Championship - Pickwick Lake

As a reminder, these Association of College Anglers’ events allow up to two teams from each school to earn points in each of the recognized tournaments. In the event that a college fishing club has more than two teams in a tournament, points will be awarded based on the two highest finishing teams’ final standings.

“Double points tournaments are a must and we strive to do our best in all of them, especially the new Collegiate Bass Texas Shootout on Lake Texoma as we feel this lake will accommodate our fishing style very well,” Eaton said.

With over a full semester of competition left in the Cabela’s School of the Year race, the title is up in the air at this point. Without a doubt, schools are eyeing the title with hunger and passion in their eyes with the ULM Warhawk Bass Team leading the way.

The current Top Ten schools in the 2015 Cabela’s School of the Year race consist of the following:

  1. University of Louisiana - Monroe (Monroe, LA)
  2. Stephen F. Austin (Nacogdoches, TX)
  3. University of Wisconsin (Platteville, WI)
  4. University of Wisconsin (Stevens Point, WI)
  5. Tennessee Tech University (Cookeville, TN)
  6.  University of North Alabama (Florence, AL)
  7.  Eastern Kentucky University (Richmond, KY)
  8. University of South Carolina (Columbia, SC)
  9. Kansas State University (Manhattan, KS)
  10.  Arkansas Tech University (Russellville, AR)

To see the complete standings, click here


For complete details on the 2015 Cabela’s School of the Year Program, please visit:

Program Info

Sanctioned Event List

Current Team Standings


About the ACA

The Association of Collegiate Anglers, a division of Careco TV, is a sanctioning body developed to facilitate growth, development, and structure within competitive collegiate bass fishing.  The ACA provides support to dozens of school operated regional events nationwide and owns the Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, the largest participatory collegiate tournament circuit in the country.  With dedicated collegiate fishing programming on several television networks, three nationally televised collegiate bass fishing events, and thousands of members, the ACA is the leader in competitive collegiate bass fishing.  For more information on the ACA, or the Cabela’s Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, visit For more information on CarecoTV, visit  

  •  Garmin
  •  Cabelas
  •  Smith & Wesson Performance Center
  •  Thompson Center Arms
  •  Ranger
  •  Nikon
  •  FoodSaver
  •  Yamaha
  •  Do-All Outdoors
  •  Stealth Cam
  •  Walkers Game Ear
  • GrovTec
  •  Big Bite Baits
  •  Power-Pole
  •  Hobie
  •  TenPoint Crossbows
  •  HydroWave
  •  Purina
  •  Sunline
  •  SPRO
  •  Bubba Blade
  • ConQuest Scents
  •  Arctic Ice
  •  Its In Your Nature
  •  Bradley Smoker
  •  Engel Coolers
  •  HiViz
  • Gill
  • Wiley X
  • Sawyer
  •  Garmin
  •  Cabela's